Skip to Main Content


With 18 departments, 22 undergraduate majors, 19 master’s degree programs, two doctoral programs, and 14 specialty certificate programs, Bowie State University offers a wide range of academic opportunities. The faculty are highly qualified, with 92% of full-time professors holding at least a master’s degree and 64% holding PhDs. The National Science Foundation recognized the strength of the University’s science and mathematics programs by selecting it as one of six Historically Black Colleges/Universities to be chosen as a Model Institution of Excellence. Research at the University is supported by such advanced facilities as a $1 million supercomputer and a NASA satellite operations control center.

College of Arts and Sciences

College of Business

College of Education

College of Professional Studies